In this section

New, Australia-wide food standards coming in practice as of 8 December 2023

Published on Friday, 3 November 2023 at 9:30:24 AM

As of December 8, 2023, food businesses will be introduced to a new, Australia-wide food safety standard.

Food businesses dealing with unpackaged, potentially hazardous, and ready-to-eat foods must adhere to the updated standards. The standards are aimed at improving food handling practices and reducing the risk of foodborne illnesses. This standard is outlined in the Guide for Food Businesses on Food Safety Standard 3.2.2A.


Action Required:

To ensure compliance with these new requirements, we kindly request that you provide the Environmental Health Team at the Town of Port Hedland with the necessary certificates for food safety supervisor and/or food handler training certification no later than 29 February 2024 if applicable to your business/premise.

Equipping food businesses with these tools empowers them to proactively address food safety risks, mitigating the risk of foodborne illnesses, outbreaks, financial losses, and damage to their reputation.

Key Requirements:

  1. Category Classification:
    • Category One: Businesses that process or make unpackaged, potentially hazardous, ready-to-eat foods (e.g., cafés, restaurants, caterers).
    • Category Two: Businesses that minimally handle unpackaged, potentially hazardous food (e.g., slicing, weighing, repacking, reheating) such as service stations or supermarket delis.

  2. Compliance Deadline:
    • All affected businesses must comply with the new requirements by 8 December 2023.

  3. Food Handler Training:
    • Food handlers (including chefs, cooks, and waiters) in both Category One and Two businesses must complete food handler training or demonstrate adequate skills and knowledge in food safety.
    • Free online food handler training courses are available at

  4. Food Safety Supervisor:
    • Category One and Two businesses must appoint at least one food safety supervisor who will advise and supervise food handlers.
    • Food safety supervisors are required to take a training course and refresh their certification every 5 years (courses listed at

  5. Record-Keeping:
    • Category One businesses must keep records of food safety controls for a minimum of 3 months.
    • Key records include temperature monitoring, cooking temperatures, cleaning, and sanitizing procedures.
    • Record templates can be downloaded from


Frequently asked questions:

For more detailed information, please refer to the Guide for Food Businesses on Food Safety Standard 3.2.2A or visit

For more information visit food safety management tools for food businesses.

Environmental Health Team

(08) 9158 9300

Back to All News