The Town of Port Hedland local government elections are held every two years, on the third Saturday in October. The Mayor and eight (8) Councillors are each elected for four-year terms, with half of the elected members being elected every biennial election.

Local government elections play an important role in our democratic system and are an excellent opportunity for people to contribute to, and be involved in their local community.

The next election for the Town will be a postal election, and is being held on 16 October 2021 at the Civic Centre in Port Hedland.

To view the 2021 Local Government Ordinary Elections returned election packages via Australia Post, please click here.

2021 Ordinary local government election results


Candidate Number of Votes
UNKOVICH, Kylie 567
BARROW, Andy 356
BUTSON, Lorraine 568
KEW MING, Lewis 537
PITT, George 478
BARTHO, Eva 552
SILCOCK, Gary 194
RIVERA, Tekohi 389
NEWBERY, Louise 489
TAVO, Lincoln 404
ECKHART, David 589
TURNER, Tim 794
BENNETT, Flo 1,064
DACCACHE, George 252
Total Formal Votes 8,157
Formal Ballot Papers 2,243
Informal Ballot Papers 24
Total Ballot Papers 2,267
Therefore the following people are elected as councillors for the Town of Port Hedland. Each councillor will hold office until the date set out next to his or her name.

Name Expiry of Term
Laveni Fololeni Nightinga Bennett 18 October 2025
Ashliegh Wade CHRISTENSEN 18 October 2025
Timothy John TURNER 18 October 2025
David Godfrey ECKHART 18 October 2025


Candidate Number of Votes
BUTSON, Lorraine 303
CARTER, Peter 967
DACCACHE, George 109
NORWELL, Katie 177
BLANCO, Camilo 302
JACOB, Gloria 367
Total Formal Votes 2,225
Formal Ballot Papers 2,225
Informal Ballot Papers 47
Total Ballot Papers 2,272
Therefore Peter Thomas CARTER is elected as the Mayor of the Town of Port Hedland until 18 October 2025.

Click here to view the Election Results Noticeboard pdf