In this section

Hedland’s community citizens celebrated

Published on Friday, 26 January 2024 at 10:06:54 AM

Port Hedland’s outstanding citizens have been recognised in the annual Community Citizen of the Year Awards.

Vicki-Tree Stephens, Troy Wood and the team behind the Pink Pilbara Breakfast were awarded honours in the special Australia Day celebration.

Mayor Peter Carter said the winners inspired community connection and supported Hedland to be a thriving community.

“Having dedicated locals is what makes Hedland a fantastic place to live, work and visit. Together, we help create a thriving and inclusive community that is built on connection and diversity,” Mayor Carter said.

Vicki-Tree Stephens was awarded Community Citizen of the Year in recognition of her outstanding service to the Hedland community.

Mayor Carter said award judges recognised Vicki-Tree’s efforts to positively impact the lives of young people living in Hedland.

“Countless young people, family members and the wider community have benefitted from Vicki-Tree’s leadership and dedication – congratulations on this honour.”

Troy Wood was awarded Young Citizen of the Year for his demonstratable work in youth services, while the Pink Pilbara Breakfast was awarded the Active Citizenship Award for its contribution to fundraising and community spirit.

“Congratulations to all the nominees and winners. You should be proud of yourselves for being recognised in these awards. With your community efforts and hard work, you help make Hedland a better and more connected place,” Mayor Carter said.

“I also want to extend my thanks to our incredible sponsors this year – Mineral Resources, Pilbara Ports and ITOCHU.”

The awards were held on Australia Day at the Civic Centre with a breakfast for all attendees.

Award nominees include:

Community Citizen of the Year Award | Sponsored by ITOCHU
· Vicki-Tree Stephens (Winner)
· Catherine Widdup
· Danica Holliday
· Jan Breddy
· Jules Prins
· Letcha Solo
· Marilyn Fogarty
· Mary Angel Solo
· Michelle Cockie
· Nathan Swayne
· Robyn Middleton

Young Citizen of the Year Award | Sponsored by Pilbara Ports
· Troy Wood (Winner)
· Alex Fogarty
· Beau Keller
· Maddison Phillips

Active Citizenship Award | Sponsored by Mineral Resources
· Pink Pilbara Breakfast (Winner)

Back to All News