In this section

Above: Award recipients at the 2018 Hedland Community Sports Awards at Wanangkura Stadium in South Hedland.

2018 Hedland Community Sports Awards

On Friday, 30 November 2018 Hedland gathered to recognise the talent, ambition and sportsmanship which is the backbone of the community. Clubs and organisations from across Hedland converged at Wanangkura Stadium, for a social evening of celebration, awards, food and drinks. The evening's special guest speaker was Olympic World Record Holder Libby Trickett, an icon of Australian Sport. Other special guest speakers included Stephen Dawson MLC and Town of Port Hedland Mayor Camilo Blanco. The Awards delivered on the Town's commitment to foster an inclusive and involved community, with well utilised and valued facilities. 

Please see below for a full list of the category winners. The Town wishes to congratulate all nominees and winners, as well as thank our independent panel of judges for selecting the winners. 

Junior Sportswoman of the Year

Bethany Denney - Junior Soccer

Junior Sportsman of the Year

Matthew Stewart - Hedland Reds

Sportswoman of the Year

Timara Simpson - Hedland Softball

Sportsman of the Year

Rey Tuando - Hedland Taekwondo

Official of the Year

Brad Pawlenko - Hedland Water Polo Association

Coach of the Year

Teneal Russell - Port Hedland Netball Association

Volunteer of the Year

Josh Nannup - South Hedland Swans

Club of the Year

Hedland Taekwondo

Photo Gallery 



Please click here to access the media release.