QUIETHOUR

Tuesday 9th February 2021 - Tuesday 28th December 2021


QUIETHOUR is an initiative aimed at minimising visual and auditory stimulation and distractions to create a more inclusive and accessible environment for people who are sensitive to excessive stimuli.

Once a week, on Tuesdays between 10-11am, we'll lower the music levels throughout the gym and dim the lights in the crèche at Wanangkura Stadium.

All members and casual attendees are welcome to access the facility during this time, but we request that you help keep noise to a minimum.

While we will take all reasonable steps to minimise stimulus during the specified times, completely eliminating noise and light in the facility is not possible. Management plans should be explored with individuals / their carers in cases of extreme sensitivity – Enquiries can be sent to us at leisure@porthedland.wa.gov.au

It should be noted that a distraction free, low stimuli environment can be beneficial for everybody, not just individuals who are sensitive to excessive stimuli. Research indicates that constantly being switched on (to bright lights, loud noises and whatever's happening on our phones/computers) can lead to a range of ailments, including: anxiety, insomnia, obesity, hypertension, poor heart health, impaired immune function and hormonal imbalances.


Event Details

Time: 10:00-11:00am

Venue: Wanangkura Stadium 24-7

Enquiries

Contact: Shane Hayes

Organisation: Port Hedland Leisure

Phone: (08) 9158 9750

Email: leisure@porthedland.wa.gov.au

Event Date(s)

  • Tue 9th Feb 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 16th Feb 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 23rd Feb 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 2nd Mar 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 9th Mar 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 16th Mar 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 23rd Mar 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 30th Mar 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 6th Apr 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 13th Apr 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 20th Apr 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 27th Apr 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 4th May 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 11th May 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 18th May 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 25th May 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 1st Jun 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 8th Jun 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 15th Jun 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 22nd Jun 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 29th Jun 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 6th Jul 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 13th Jul 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 20th Jul 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 27th Jul 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 3rd Aug 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 10th Aug 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 17th Aug 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 24th Aug 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 31st Aug 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 7th Sep 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 14th Sep 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 21st Sep 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 28th Sep 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 5th Oct 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 12th Oct 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 19th Oct 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 26th Oct 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 2nd Nov 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 9th Nov 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 16th Nov 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 23rd Nov 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 30th Nov 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 7th Dec 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 14th Dec 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 21st Dec 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM
  • Tue 28th Dec 21 10:00AM - 11:00AM

Back to All Events