

Town of Port Hedland

MINUTES

OF THE

AIRPORT COMMITTEE OF THE TOWN OF PORT HEDLAND COUNCIL

HELD ON

THURSDAY 24 MAY 2012 AT 5:30PM

IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS MCGREGOR STREET, PORT HEDLAND

Russell Dyer Director Engineering Services

Terms of Reference

Aim/Purpose

The Airport Committee is established to ensure that the Port Hedland International Airport is recognised as a leading regional airport in the area of passenger and freight movements and customer satisfaction and to:

- Develop a comprehensive Airport Master Plan and commence implementation of key initiatives that are identified;
- Actively pursue the generation of income from a variety of sources at the Airport including through leases, rentals, advertising, freight and any other means; and
- Upgrade terminal facilities including baggage screening and departure lounges.

Membership

Elected Members:

Councillor Arnold A Carter Councillor Jan M Gillingham Councillor Michael B Dziombak Councillor Julie E Hunt Councillor Gloria A Jacob

Community Members:

Ms Florence Bennett Ms Michelle Cook Mr Serge Doumergue Mr Chris Whalley

Quorum

The quorum for the Committee is to be a minimum of 50% of its membership.

Delegation

- i) To determine whether a tender is required to be sought or not as specified in LG (F&G) Reg 11F.
- ii) To choose tenderers for products services on behalf of the local government in accordance with LG (F&G) Reg 18.

Tenure

Ongoing

Meeting frequency

Every 4 weeks

Dates of Meetings

The following dates have been set and advertised in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995 for Airport Committee Meetings to be held at 5:30 pm in Council Chambers:

- Thursday, 22 March 2012
- Thursday, 19 April 2012
- Thursday, 24 May 2012
- Thursday, 28 June 2012
- Thursday, 26 July 2012
- Thursday, 23 August 2012
- Thursday, 27 September 2012
- Thursday, 25 October 2012
- Thursday, 22 November 2012
- Thursday, 20 December 2012
- Thursday, 24 January 2013
- Thursday, 28 February 2013
- Thursday, 28 March 2013

Responsible Officer

Director Engineering Services

(Terms of reference adopted by Council at its Ordinary Meeting held 25 January 2012. Meeting dates adopted and membership amended by Council at its Ordinary Meeting held on 14 March 2012. Additional community members appointed by Council at its Ordinary Meeting held on 9 May 2012.)

OUR COMMITMENT			
	nhance social, environmental and economic well-being through		
leadership and working in partnership with the Community.			
ITEM 1	OPENING OF MEETING		
1.1	OPENING		
ITEM 2	RECORD OF ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE		
2.1	Attendance		
2.2 2.3	APOLOGIES		
ITEM 3	RESPONSE TO PREVIOUS QUESTIONS TAKEN ON NOTICE		
ITEM 4	PUBLIC TIME		
4.1	PUBLIC QUESTION TIME		
4.2	PUBLIC STATEMENT TIME		
ITEM 5	QUESTIONS FROM MEMBERS WITHOUT NOTICE		
5.1	COUNCILLOR M DZIOMBAK		
ITEM 6 CONTAI	DECLARATION BY MEMBERS TO HAVE GIVEN DUE CONSIDERATION TO ALL MATTERS NED IN THE BUSINESS PAPER PRESENTED BEFORE THE MEETING		
ITEM 7	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING		
ITEM 8	ANNOUNCEMENTS BY CHAIRPERSON WITHOUT DISCUSSION		
ITEM 9	PETITIONS/DEPUTATIONS/PRESENTATIONS/SUBMISSIONS9		
ITEM 10	REPORTS OF OFFICERS		
ITEM 11	LATE ITEMS AS PERMITTED BY CHAIRPERSON/COUNCIL9		
ITEM 12	MOTIONS OF WHICH PREVIOUS NOTICE HAVE BEEN GIVEN		
ITEM 13	CONFIDENTIAL ITEMS		
ITEM 14	APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE		
ITEM 15	CLOSURE		
15.1 15.2	Date of Next Meeting		

ITEM 1 OPENING OF MEETING

1.1 Opening

The Chairperson declared the meeting open at 5:30pm and acknowledged the traditional owners, the Kariyarra people.

ITEM 2 RECORD OF ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

2.1 Attendance

Elected Members:

Councillor Arnold A Carter Councillor Michael B Dziombak Councillor Jan M Gillingham Councillor Julie E Hunt (Chairperson) (Deputy Chairperson) entered at 5:37pm

Director Engineering Services

Governance Coordinator/Minute

Manager Airport

Development

Taker

Manager Infrastructure

Community Members:

Ms Florence Bennett Ms Michelle Cook Mr Serge Doumergue Mr Chris Whalley

Officers:

Mr Russell Dyer Mr Bob Couzens Miss Jenella Voitkevich

Miss Josephine Bianchi

2.2 Apologies

Councillor Gloria A Jacob

2.3 Approved Leave of Absence

Nil

ITEM 3 RESPONSE TO PREVIOUS QUESTIONS TAKEN ON NOTICE

Nil

ITEM 4 PUBLIC TIME

5:30pm Chairperson opened Public Question Time.

4.1 Public Question Time

Nil.

- 5:30pm Chairperson closed Public Question Time.
- 5:30pm Chairperson opened Public Statement Time.
- 4.2 Public Statement Time

Nil.

5:30pm Chairperson closed Public Statement Time.

ITEM 5 QUESTIONS FROM MEMBERS WITHOUT NOTICE

5.1 Councillor M Dziombak

Councillor Dziombak advised he has recently received several telephone calls from Bunnings. The company is very interested in moving to Port Hedland and is also interested in commercial land availability at Precinct 3. Can the town's administration make the new Manager of Economic and Land Development aware of this?

Director Engineering Services advised that the new Manager of Economic and Land Development will be advised of this matter upon commencement of his employment.

AC201112/018 Airport Committee Decision

Moved: Cr M Dziombak Seconded: Cr J E Hunt

That the Airport Committee receive an updated chart of the Airport's Top 10 Priority Projects on a monthly basis.

CARRIED 7/0

ITEM 6 DECLARATION BY MEMBERS TO HAVE GIVEN DUE CONSIDERATION TO ALL MATTERS CONTAINED IN THE BUSINESS PAPER PRESENTED BEFORE THE MEETING

Cr A A Carter	Cr M B Dziombak
Cr J E Hunt	S Doumergue
M Cook	F Bennett
C Whalley	

ITEM 7 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

AC201112/019 Officer's Recommendation/Airport Committee Decision

Moved: Cr J E Hunt Seconded: S Doumergue

That the Minutes of the Airport Committee Meeting held on Thursday 19 April 2012 be confirmed as a true and correct record of proceedings.

CARRIED 7/0

AC201112/020 Airport Committee Decision

Moved: Cr J E Hunt Seconded: Cr M Dziombak

That the Airport Committee suspend Standing Orders.

CARRIED 7/0

5:35pm Chairperson advised that Standing Orders are suspended.

5:37pm Councillor J M Gillingham entered the meeting and assumed her chair.

AC201112/020 Airport Committee Decision

Moved: Cr J E Hunt Seconded: Cr M Dziombak

That the Airport Committee resume Standing Orders.

CARRIED 8/0

6:15pm Chairperson advised that Standing Orders are resumed.

ITEM 8 ANNOUNCEMENTS BY CHAIRPERSON WITHOUT DISCUSSION

Nil.

ITEM 9 PETITIONS/DEPUTATIONS/PRESENTATIONS/SUBMISSIONS

AC201112/021 Airport Committee Decision

Moved: Cr A A Carter Seconded: Cr J E Hunt

That the Airport Committee request that a PR campaign regarding the future direction of the Port Hedland International Airport and its upgrade be prepared.

CARRIED 8/0

ITEM 10 REPORTS OF OFFICERS

Nil

ITEM 11 LATE ITEMS AS PERMITTED BY CHAIRPERSON/COUNCIL

Nil

- ITEM 12 MOTIONS OF WHICH PREVIOUS NOTICE HAVE BEEN GIVEN
 Nil
- ITEM 13 CONFIDENTIAL ITEMS

Nil

ITEM 14 APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil.

ITEM 15 CLOSURE

15.1 Date of Next Meeting

The next Airport Committee Meeting of the Town of Port Hedland Council will be held on Thursday, 28 June 2012.

15.2 Closure

There being no further business, the Chairperson declared the meeting closed at 6:20 pm.