Town of Port Hedland
Find us on Facebook Join us on Google+

Port Hedland Community Awards

The Port Hedland Community Awards help to build a unified town by giving the community the opportunity to formally recognise the significant contribution of volunteers and sporting excellence within the Town of Port Hedland. 

The Port Hedland Community Awards consist of two categories (Outstanding Community Service and Sporting Excellence), with four awards in each category:

Outstanding Community Service

  • Youth Volunteer Award (under 25) - Recognition of a young person (under 25) who has volunteered in the community within the last 12 months. The contribution can be in the area of sporting and/or community service. The commitment by the individual needs to have been undertaken outside of normal school, college or work time.
  • Community Group Award - A local organisation or group that is providing a community service that is enhancing Port Hedland as a place to live and call home. This group may have a strong volunteering base, be not for profit or is a charitable group and is focused on community strengthening, improving the social capital of the Port Hedland community.
  • Community Volunteer Award - An individual who has provided service to the community over the last 12 months. The individual has helped Port Hedland to be a better place to live. The nature of the services provided is likely to focus on but not be limited to community, environment, disability and health.
  • Community Safety Award - Awarded to an individual who has made a contribution to the safety of the Hedland Community over the last 12 months in the areas of emergency service (for example; fire, ambulance, SES) and/or community based contributions. The award can be won by a volunteer or alternatively by someone who has provided a level of service above and beyond the normal expectations in an employed role.

Sporting Excellence

  • Junior Sports Person of the Year (under 18) - Nominee must be under 18. Awarded to a young person who has resided in Port Hedland for a minimum of one of the last two years and who has excelled in a sport at a local, regional, state or national level. Nominees can participate in one or more sports over the past 12 months.
  • Sports Star of the Year - Awarded to a current Port Hedland resident who has excelled in a sport at a local, regional, state or national level in one or more sports over the past 12 months.
  • Percy Gratwick VC Sporting Club of the Year - Awarded to a local sporting club or association that excelled at a local, regional, state or national level during the last 12 months. Excellence may be demonstrated in the areas of: governance, sporting excellence and club growth.
  • Sporting Volunteer of the Year - Recognition of an individual who has made a significant contribution to a sport through volunteering over the last 12 months.

If you have any questions, please contact the Town's Administration and Events Officer by email or by phone 9158 9385.

'image description'

Congratulations to the following nominees and winners from the 2016 Port Hedland Community Awards:

Nomination category


Youth Volunteer

Tess Mellberg (winner)

Maliriko Bule-Turner

Elsie Grossmith

Rylan Wright

Community Group

Care for Hedland Environmental Association Inc (winner)

Bloodwood Tree Association Inc

Cooke Point Playgroup Inc

Hedland Community Living Association

Hedland Taekwondo Youth Leadership Team

HIPPY Hedland and West Pilbara Children's Service

Pilbara Community Legal Service

SAFE Hedland Inc

Soroptimist International Port Hedland

V Swans

Community Volunteer

Lisa Rogers (winner)

Julie Arif

Sam Arif

Natasha Bargeus

Alfred Barker

Christine Biesgen

Christine Black

Geraldine Burn

Amanda Burridge

Telfia Cameron

Emma Clarke

Leigh Clifton

Harini Dhamayanti

Neneth Dunn

Nolleen Du Plessis Lyall

Larene Hayward

Janette Hartmann

Kylee Hodder

Anthony Holman

Tanya Holman

Kelly Howlett

Julie Hull

Jenny Hurse

Gloria Jacob

Gavin Jones

Nik Kumar

Darwa Laurie

Jay Lee

Cheryl Leguin

Kerry McCrie

Patrik Mellberg

Sally Mellberg

Jacinta Neiberding

Nina Pangahas

Belinda Parker

Deb Phipps

Peter Phipps

Glenys Pike

Peter Pope

Vaughan Price

Shane Sercombe

Zachary Slaughter

Annabelle Smith

Letcha Quiaroro Solo

Adinda Indira Tiara

Ananda Ilham Tiara

Hazniel Tiara

Chris Turland

Doreen Turland

Sharan van der Sluis

Evelyn van Eyck

Gail Victor

Rosie Vrancic

Gordon Webb

Hang Webb

Ngaire Whyte

Melissa Wood

Nicole Wylie

Te Aroha Wyllie

Community Safety Award

John Mathews (winner)

Andrew Pyke

Zachary Slaughter

Junior Sportsperson of the Year

Zoe Britcliffe (winner)

Flynn Bennett

Jack Bowins

Mackayla Denney

William Finau

Conner Gill

Kimi Grace

Chrishenda Green

Sophie Marlow

Cooper Marlow

Gemima Rahman

Jacinta Ramirez-Smith

Lauren Ramirez-Smith

Roberta Ramirez-Smith

Kenyan Wright

Sport Star of the Year

Nathan Groch (winner)

Torekana Bule-Turner

Saane Finau

Sina Higgins

Tracey Marlow

Rebecca Zammit

Percy Gratwick VC Sporting Club of the Year

Sang-rok Hedland Judo Club (winner)

Hedland Taekwondo Inc

Illusions Netball Club

North West Muay Thai

Sporting Volunteer of the Year

Michael Warren (winner)

Brad Christensen

Rachael Christensen

Tracey Swami

Daniel Zammit